Sorry, the chat is offline.

The Champagne

The ChampagneThe Champagne area is of 34000 hectares, which represents 3.4% of the vineyard in France. The culture of the vine is concentrated around Reims and Epernay, in the department of Marne (72%) and a little bit in the Aisne, Seine-et-Marne, Haute-Marne and Aube departments.The vineyard is divided into 4 areas: the Montagne de Reims, the Marne Valley, the Côte des Blancs and the Côte des Bars.« Crus » means villages. There are 317 crus which are then divided in 3 categories:Grand cru: the best quality of wines produced.17 villages are listed as Avize, Aÿ, Cramant, etc. « Premier cru »: good quality of wines.44 villages only. « Autres crus »: the most common name. All the rest, that is to say more than 21 000 hectares.Since 1927 champagne wine owns an AOC (appellation d'origine contrôlée) : to be called “champagne” the wine must be made with the grapes of that area only,and has to be made according to the traditional .Speaking about wine is speaking about “terroir”. The 3 main composite of the champagne “terroir” are: climate, soil, and subsoil.

List of pages in The Champagne:

Compare 0

No products

To be determined Shipping
0 € Total

Check out